The Robots is coming

With too little fanfare for my tastes, Big Finish has announced a new spin-off: The Robots with Nicola Walker as Liv Chenka. It’s Doctor free (as far as I can tell) and will be released from December 2019 as twelve stories over four three-disc sets, released every six months. This means it will run until June 2021!

The Robots 1

So far the set-up is:

During the events of Doctor Who – Ravenous 2, Liv Chenka left the Doctor and the TARDIS behind. Just for one year. A year during which she would live on Kaldor, and get to know her sister Tula all over again.

But Kaldor is going through a period of tumultuous change. Technology is changing at an advanced rate – the robots are evolving, artificial intelligence is adapting, and with these changes so politics is altering too. Dangerously.

Can Liv and Tula make a difference during the most turbulent time in the world’s history?

Her sister Tula (if you haven’t heard Ravenous 2 yet) is played by Claire Rushbrook.

We know more about Robots 1:

1.1 The Robots of Life by Roland Moore

Settling into life back on Kaldor, Liv investigates a medical centre where the patients are dying.

1.2 The Sentient by Robert Whitelock

Vissey is a young child – the sort of perfect young girl any parents would want to adopt. She is also artificial, and she sees the world in a very different way to humans.

1.3 Love Me Not by John Dorney

A widower goes to extreme lengths to keep the memories of his dead wife alive.

I’ve been a big fan of Liv Chenka right from her first Big Finish appearance alongside the Seventh Doctor in Robophobia. I even tipped her for a companion long before it happened! Roll on December!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.