Paul Spragg Writing Opportunity 2020

Paul Spragg
The one and only Paul Spragg

For the fifth year in a row Big Finish has announced the Paul Spragg Memorial Short Trips Opportunity writing competition. Full details on the Big Finish site, essentially you have until the end of June to come up with your story and you must not have written for Big Finish before.

The full press release follows…

Write a Doctor Who story for Big Finish!

Big Finish today opens its annual Short Trips writing opportunity, seeking new writers to create a Doctor Who short story to be released as an audiobook at Christmas 2020.   

The Paul Spragg Memorial Short Trips Opportunity is named after the cheerful, much-loved person at the heart of the Big Finish production office, who passed away suddenly on 8 May 2014.   

Now in its fifth year, the competition is open again from today until the end of June. The full list of terms & conditions can be found on the Big Finish website, and should be read by anyone planning to send in a new story submission over the coming weeks. 

Big Finish creative director Nicholas Briggs said:

“It’s that wonderful time of year again when we remember our great friend and colleague, Paul Spragg.   

“Although it’s always painful to remember the loss, it’s a great consolation to recall his incredible positivity, sense of fun and, to honour the way in which he was always keen to encourage new talent.  

“It’s for that reason that our former colleague and Doctor Who Short Trips producer Ian Atkins proposed this Memorial Writers’ Opportunity, and I’m so impressed with how our current Short Trips producer Alfie Shaw has picked up the baton and continued to find the most creative and exciting new writers out there. 

“I’m looking forward to reading some great new entries,” concluded Nick. “Good luck to you all!” 

Prospective entrants should listen to previous winning entries, to understand what kind of adventures the Big Finish judges are looking for.

The first winning story, selected from over a thousand submissions in 2016, was Forever Fallen by Joshua Wanisko. The finished production, narrated by Nicholas Briggs, can be downloaded for free from the Big Finish website.  

The subsequent three winning stories, Landbound by Selim Ulug, The Last Day at Work by Harry Draper, and The Best-Laid Plans by Ben Tedds, also free to download, are excellent starting points.   

Prospective writers must submit their entries before 23:59 (UK time) on 30 June 2020. Full details of how to enter, including writers’ guidelines and competition terms and conditions are listed at the Big Finish website. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.